Folk Concerts at St. Cecilia Music Center

Acoustic Cafe Folk Series


SCMC is delighted to partner for the third season in a row with the internationally syndicated radio show, The Acoustic Café to bring nationally touring folk artists to Grand Rapids.


Marc Cohn

7:30pm, Thursday, April 13, 2017 Tickets $35 and $40 (including fees)

You may be most familiar with American singer-songwriter Marc Cohn from his Grammy winning hit “Walking in Memphis” and his heartfelt song “True Companion.” But chances are you have heard Cohn play on albums with artists like Kris Kristofferson, Jackson Browne, Rosanne Cash, Tracey Chapman and Shawn Colvin.

Cohn’s own discography includes guest performances by notable artists such as David Crosby, Graham Nash and Bonnie Raitt – to name a few. His most recent works include 2010’s Billboard chart topping Album” Listening Booth: 1970, and 2016’s Careful What You Dream: Lost Songs and Rarities.”

Marc Cohn has solidified his place as one of this generation’s most compelling singer-songwriters. Combining the precision of a brilliant tunesmith with the passion of a great soul man, Cohn is a natural storyteller, balancing the exuberant with the poignant, and able to distill universal truth out of his often romantic, drawn-from-life tales. Cohn followed up his Grammy winning and platinum-selling debut album with two more releases in the 1990s, at which point “TIME” magazine called him “one of the honest, emotional voices we need in this decade.”

In 2007 he released “Join the Parade,” Inspired by the horrific events following Hurricane Katrina and his own near fatal shooting just weeks before, Parade is his most moving and critically acclaimed record to date, leading “Rolling Stone” to hail, “Cohn has one of rock’s most soulful croons –a rich immediately recognizable tenor that makes these songs his own.”

In 2016, in celebration of the 25th anniversary of his platinum-selling debut album, Marc proudly released “Careful What you Dream: Lost Songs and Rarities,” and the bonus album, “Evolution of a Record,” featuring never-before-heard songs and demos dating back to years before his debut album and the Grammy Award that followed.

7:30pm, Thursday, April 13, 2017 Tickets $35 and $40 (including fees)

More About Marc Cohn


St. Cecilia Music Center Box Office Information

  • Purchase concert tickets online here or call 616-459-2224.
  • Our concerts take place in the intimate and historic Royce Auditorium, which seats 650.
  • Student tickets, when available, are $12 the day of the event at the door.
  • Purchase concert tickets here by using the links above, or call our Box Office, 616-459-2224
  • To keep ticket prices low we ask the patron to cover the service fee for the usage of the ticketing system regardless of how or where the ticket is purchased.
  • There are no refunds or exchanges on tickets.
  • For special needs seating, please contact our Box Office at 616-459-2224 ext. 201.
  • All concerts take place in the Royce Auditorium, 24 Ransom NE, Grand Rapids, MI, 49504
  • Parking can be found on the street and in nearby lots.

Concert Day Box Office Hours

9am – 4pm and 6pm – 8pm at the door

Thank you to all of our Sponsors